domingo, octubre 15, 2006

Alberto Iglesias gana el World Soundtrack Award

Información pasada por Josep Lluis Falcó

World Soundtrack Awards 2006

Alberto Iglesias Best Composer 2006

Ghent (October14, 2006). Alberto Iglesias is the big winner of the WorldSoundtrack Awards 2006. He won both the Award of Soundtrack Composer of theYear and Best Original Soundtrack of the year with the music he wrote forThe Constant Gardener.

The prestigious film music awards were presentedduring the 33rd Flanders International Film Festival Ghent on SaturdayOctober 14 for the sixth time running.

The 'Public Choice Award' went to Gustavo Santaolalla (Oscar Winner) for thesoundtrack of Brokeback Mountain and Evanthia Reboutsika was elected as 'TheDiscovery of the Year 2006' for the music of My Father & My Son.

The'Lifetime Achievement Award' went to Peer Raben but as he was absent forhealth's reasons, the actress and singer Ingrid Caven received it.

The song Our Town by Randy Newman (music & lyrics) & James Taylor(performer) from Cars won the Award for 'Best Original Song Written for Film'.The Award for 'Best Young Belgian Composer' was given to AlexisKoustoulidis, for his score for the silent short film Le Fauteuil Vivantwhich was granted 2.500.

The official ceremony was followed by a film music concert in which theFlemish Radio Orchestra, under the direction of Dirk Brossé,

List of nominees and winners**

Soundtrack Composer of the Year

Danny Elfman (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory)Alberto Iglesias (The Constant Gardener)**Dario Marianelli (Pride and Prejudice)James Newton Howard (King Kong)John Powell (Ice Age: The Meltdown)Best Original Soundtrack of the Year - OrchestralAlberto Iglesias (The Constant Gardener)**Dario Marianelli (Pride and Prejudice)James Newton Howard (King Kong)Gustavo Santaolalla (Brokeback Mountain)John Williams (Munich)

Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film

"A Love That Will Never Grow Old" (Brokeback Mountain)Music by Gustavo Santaolalla - lyrics by Bernie Taupin - performed byEmmylou Harris"Can't Take It In" (The Chronicles of Narnia)Music by Harry Gregson-Williams & Imogen Heap - lyrics by Imogen Heap -performed by Imogen Heap"Magic Works" (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)Music and lyrics by Jarvis Cocker - performed by Jarvis Cocker, JonnyGreenwood, Philip Selway, Steve Mackey, Steve Claydon and Jason Buckle -string arrangement by Patrick Doyle"Mdlwembe" (Tsotsi)Music by Kabelo 'Kaybee' Ikaneng - lyrics by Zola - performed by Zola"Our Town" (Cars)**Music and lyrics by Randy Newman - performed by James TaylorDiscovery of the yearNick Cave and Warren Ellis(The Proposition)Nigel Clarke and Michael CsaniI-Wills (The Thief Lord)Olivier Florio (Les Brigades du tigre)Douglas Pipes (Monster House)Evanthia Reboutsika (My Father & my son) **

The World Soundtrack Award ceremony was organized in collaboration with Sabam, the Province of Eastern Flanders and the City Marketing Fund Ghent.The following composers attended the World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony :Gustavo Santaolalla, Dario Marianelli, Evanthia Reboutsika, Olivier Florio,Douglas Pipes, Nigel Clarke & Michael Csanyi-Wills, Alberto Iglesias, JohnPowell, Emanuel Bauer and Florian Moser

.-----------Josep Lluís i FalcóProfessor d'Història del cinema i Llenguatges Audiovisuals.UNIVERSITAT DE BARCELONA